Flu Season Fix

Like most people this time of year, I found myself at the mercy of a nasty cold this last week. And while I wanted to respect my body and give it plenty of rest, I didn’t want to skip too many workouts as it would ultimately affect my progress. Therefore, instead of skipping my workouts, I just made some adjustments to keep me on track. 

If you come into contact with the flu or cold this season, don’t get discouraged. You can still work out and reach your goals, you will just need to modify your routine. After all, when you’re sick your one and only goal is to get healthy again! Here are the guidelines I follow while I’m sick:

1. Drink extra water or fluids with electrolytes. Your body is already trying to flush out a lot of toxins so you need to make sure to replenish any water loss that occurred during your workout.

2. Pace yourself. Keep the workout slow and steady. Now is not the time to bust out an intense workout or beat your personal best. Keep a slow and controlled tempo and rest for 30-90 seconds between exercises to let your body recover.

3. Stay grounded. You don’t want to overtax your body and make it harder for it to fight off whatever virus you have. If you’re going for a walk, stick to flatter surfaces. Consider  taking a restorative yoga class or focus on core work for the day.

4. Listen to your body. Getting your blood flowing while you’re sick is a good thing, but you don’t want to push too much. If at any time during your workout you feel dizzy or fatigued take a break or stop all together.

*If you find that you are so ill that it’s hard to get out of bed, just stick to gentle stretches until you have more energy. 

 

Comment

